Grasshopper Beginner

Good day! I am new to grasshopper and I don’t have any idea what Interpolate Curve does. Any help will do.

http://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/5/help/en-us/commands/interpcrv.htm
Same info applies

If I can help to make it simpler (I have been struggling with the concepts myself):
It is a curve where you define points that the curve will pass through.
so, do not expect that by moving the points you defined the curve will update. Once you have created it, they go away and you are left with the control points.

You can edit them with the Rhino command EditPtOn only difference is there will be two extra points one near each end point to hold the tangents. In grasshopper you can edit them after the fact by moving them in grasshopper or rhino (depending how you made them) before the interpolated curves creation (the parametric benefit of gh)

1 Like

I didn’t know that!!!
(I feel ashamed and grateful) hehehe

just out of curiosity (and at the risk of derailing the conversation):
how do you manipulate/reference those points within grasshopper?
(correction: It’s obvious that you manipulate them by defining the curve in the first case-obviously- but is there a way to find such points in an existing curve?)

these points are called greville points. You can retrieve them by script…

NurbsCurve nc = crv.ToNurbsCurve();
Point3d gp = nc.GrevillePoint(index);

however, retrieving a new cphull from Greville points is possible but not simple.
I have two algorithms for this, but I don’t like to share them… Its basically, de Boor or de Casteljau in Reverse…

1 Like

fair enough!
I’m counting the times scripting is the answer to a problem. The 100th I’m going to start scripting :joy: