Grasshopper Array Geometry or closed curve along 2 curves

Shape Array on 2 lines.3dm (55.5 KB)
Shape Array on 2 lines.gh (17.1 KB)

Hello there,

I am new to grasshopper, I was trying to array a geometry or curve along 2 curves, one is flat and the other is wavy, I was able to create lines or pipes alone the 2 curves but whenever I try to use a geometry or a curve or even a curve created in grasshopper the array goes all over the place.

I am sure there is something I am doing wrong so please help me solve this issue and learn from it.

Figure 1. is the lines along 2 curves
Figure 2 . is my miserable attempt to use geometry to closed curve.

PS, I tried to use method 1 with my curve and results were a mess

Thank you

if you hover the mouse arrow over an input, it will give you info about what kind of data that input expects to collect

here, the N input wants an integer number that represents the number of elements you want to distribute along the curve: by connecting there a curve instead of an integer number, the component takes the length of the curve as input value, which is in this case is 829, and tries to distribute 829 of your base geometry along the curve C

the other thing is about curve direction: it looks like your curve start point is on the opposite side than your geometry, by flipping the curve you get a better result

Shape Array on 2 lines_Re.gh (6.8 KB)

1 Like

Thanks you Inno, that was really clear, I understand now the basic logic.

One last question If I may bother you, is there is any way to array a geometry using 2 paths ?, now you can notice that the geometry is correctly arrayed from the top but the bottom is offset and going in an irregular manner?

Thank you so much for the quick and helpful replay

Kind Regards

the reason why that happens is the following: