Flow Along Surface Issues

Hey all, I’m an architecture student working on a project for school. We have to apply detailed solids to surfaces, so I’ve been trying to use flow along surface, but I’ve been having a ton of trouble with it. Typically the result is warped, distorted, or doesn’t stretch to fit the entire surface. I think the fact that the surfaces I’m applying to are curved is making it more difficult. I’ve tried troubleshooting for two days to no avail. If anyone has any suggestions as to how to resolve the issue I’m having I would be so grateful. I’ll attach some pictures to demonstrate what I mean. The first image shows the command working the way I want it to, and the second is what the outcome usually looks like. Thanks so much.

Problem

Hi Hannah - FlowAlongSrf maps objects from the base surface UV to the target UV, so troubleshooting has to take into account both - can you post an example that does not work how you want?

-Pascal

Yes, the second photo I attached is the undesired outcome. The grid on the front should stretch to fit the entirely of the pink surface, ideally without any distortion to the grid itself.

Hi Hannah - I need a Rhino file with the objects, the base surface and the target surface.

-Pascal

Sure, I made the solids I need applied onto the surface into lines to make the file size more manageable. Thank you for looking at it, I really appreciate it. Help File.3dm (16.3 MB)

you have problems because your base surface is a trimmed plane.

Hi, thanks for looking at it. I’m not sure what you mean or how to fix this. Could you explain further?

Hello - so the problem is, there is a difference between what you see as a ‘trimmed face’ in Rhino and the face’s underlying surface. FlowAlongSrf can only use the UV of the underlying surface (or a shrunken version of that, more on that later). The extents and arrangement of the underlying surface can be seen by Untrim or by looking at the surface control points -