ESC key fails to abort

In the windows version, the ESC key aborts the current operation. In the Mac version the “press ESC to Abort” message is shown, but pressing the ESC key does nothing. I’ve lost count of the number of times i’ve had to force quit rhino and restart because of this.

This has been the case for as long as I’ve been using Rhino for Mac (several years).

Can this be fixed?

Have you been using the same hardware the whole time? I had a problem with my wireless keyboard vs my laptop keyboard where the delete key did not work on the laptop while both the delete and del keys worked on the wireless keyboard. I reported this but could get no help (as no one else had ever reported it). I was lucky it went away after a few days and has not come back. So you could try different hardware. Or maybe there is another alternative; the shift+! key combination will also abort the current command. This avoids your potentially faulty ESC key and hopefully works in the Mac version (I am using the Windows version).

There are two behaviors that I have always observed the esc key. In the first case, for example, if I use the command line, I click and then if I press esc cancel the operation. In the second case if such step from wireframe display in pen and I press send, by pressing Esc does not cancel the operation (and in fact for years that during the operations of this kind the only solution is forced out)

Does the ESC key work otherwise or not at all? On the PC other programs(usually from Adobe)can monopolize certain keys. A quick search reveals this sort of thing can happen on Macs too, though you may have some work to track down the culprit. Another cause of hassle which also exists on Macs can be “accessibility” features that mess with keyboard input and can easily be accidentally activated.

Hi @anomalous-