Dynamic Computer Mouse model

Hi guys!
I’ve never posted anything here, and I’m kind of a beginner still.
Im studying industrial design and was always more of the photoshop Person, but now I really want to model a computer mouse ive designed in 2nd Semester.

As a beginner I tried some approaches but I dont really know how to start. Which surfaces should be modeled with which curves first? How do i model the concave part and blend it into the front of the mouse? I tried to follow mouse tutorials on YouTube but their geometry is very different.
I did one model but the surfaces are terrible… :frowning:

here u can see Sketches, a physical model of how the mouse should be, and my attempt…

Maybe somebody out there might wanna help me? :smiley:

Hi,you should upload what you have so far, maybe with a picture in the right scale to get better answers. Nice physical model by the way.

Thanks Baris :slight_smile:
you mean the rhino model ?

It’s a disaster :smiley: Maus.3dm (452.0 KB)

Yes of course the Rhino model :grinning:

How would you guys approach it?

Maybe try with simple primitive sphere then some tweaks like in these pic.

Other style :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Hi Melinaxsell,

All the advice you’ve gotten is great, and I add a workflow I often suggest to industrial design students I teach Rhino to.

Consider your own precedent and how many products are conceived of:

Attempt to 3D-sculpt rapidly, freely - open-source options for this are many!

Rough it up, with symmetry, super fast - pull, push, flatten, Ctrl + Z

bring it to rhino and intersect it, making curves:

reverse it, collect both NURBS and polygonal/hard-surface knowledge while doing this, try NetworkSrf, EdgeSrf, draw the curve directly on the imported mesh, etc.

Have fun

oh my god!
Sorry for the late reply ive been away for the weekend. You guys took so much time to help! I really really appreciate this, thank you so much. Now I’m way more motivated again and can’t wait to try out all of your advices!