Distorting surfaces by proximity

Hi everyone.
I’m new to Grasshopper and I achieved some really interesting results by learning things here in the forum, really appreciate the community!

Right now I’m stuck with a problem that seems to be way too advanced for me.

I have this lines with control points.

I want to design these lines so each one form some kind of a “leaf” shape. I achieved that by using the Rich Mapp Grapher to remap an amplitude scale to move some of the control points of the curves to draw two Nurb Curves from them. One is “positive” and the other “negative”, and the Start and End points are not affected by the Map Grapher, so I merge them and create a surface from each closed curve.

Here is the Grasshopper file and screenshots.

surface_distortion_on_proximity.gh (18.9 KB)

So far so good and the code seems to works well enough for what I need.

The next step would be to create a way of manipulating the size nad shape of these surfaces depending on their proximity to a circle. Let’s say I have a circle placed somewhat in the center of the surfaces. Everything that’s outside the circle gets shrinked down by some factor, retaining their positions but changind their sizes, control points and whatnot. The points that are further away from the circle should shrink the surface more, so it won’t work to only change the size of the whole shape.
Anything inside the circle remains the same, like this:

I studied the Proximity 3D component, and it seems like it could help me achieve this result, but I’m honestly clueless about how to use it to distort the surfaces so much.

Any help or directions will be very much appreciated!
Thank you!

nice stuff! :+1:

one thing I would suggest is to make some minor change on the beginning of the definition in order to avoid this complication:

complication: you will notice that your curves are generated by interpolating many more points than necessary (A)