Custom History plugin, Possible?

Hi, is it possible to make a custom command/plugin that utilizes the history setting so it autoupdates on adjustments?

I have only written history commands in C++, but it appears it can be done using C Sharp, and it is much easier.

Hey thanks, but that seems to be a bit above my level…
I’ll investigate another way first :smiley:

At what level are you comfortable? Is it the language that is the issue?

What are you trying to add history support to? Wouldn’t grasshopper work just as well?

Dang, those are hard questions…
My level is complex-novice meaning I get some complex stuff accomplished with my novice skills… but I am no programmer so i often end up in deep water.
My goal is to modify a mesh and updating another mesh at the same time.
Grasshopper is not my preferred way to go, as it will be used by users who has no Rhino experience, and they should not need it either, so a I think a plugin with a toolbar is a better UX.

(Dale Fugier) #6

Hi @Holo,

The above sample referenced by @mnewberg is also available in a RhinoCommon, C# flavor it this any help to you.

https://github.com/mcneel/rhino-developer-samples/blob/6/cpp/SampleCommands/cmdSampleHistory.cpp

– Dale

Another way to handle it is via an event watcher, below is a simple command and event watcher. If you add a mesh in the boudingbox (minx:-50,miny:-25,minz:50, maxx:50, maxy:25, maxz:50) it automatically splops it on a hidden surface around the points (0, 50, 0). Having history work in this method is a really fun way to draw/array geometry ontop of surfaces.

https://github.com/matthewnewberg/MiniRhino3dUtils/blob/master/EventWatcherMeshUpdate/EventWatcherMeshUpdate/EventWatcherMeshUpdateCommand.cs

Oh man…as if Python isn’t difficult enough… :smiley:
I think we need to start simpler and run it as a command instead of enabling history right now.