Copy object to other file keeping on plane

Here’s a little problem I am running into. I have a master file where I keep the profile of a master curve that I use on various products that must start from this curve. The curve consists of 2 arcs (different radii) and are joined by a degree 3 curve. When I copy paste this to another existing file to use the master curve, it is no longer on the Cplane and is just off being parallel to it so I can’t use “move”. If I use “project to cplane” you no longer have that exact curve and I need it exact. It was definitely on plane in the master and I have “planar” checked in both files. Rhino can’t copy complete layers to another drawing (as that would keep it on plane) and trying to rotate each axis one at a time isn’t easy to do either. My understanding of Setpt is that it is like project to cplane where you’ll no longer have that exact curve. Any suggestions?

There is no link whatsoever between a layer and a CPlane an object is on.

I really do not understand what that means.

Please post the master file.
From (some of) what you write, it sounds like you used a custom CPlane in the master file. If so, you could probably use RemapCPlane to move the curves to a default CPlane.

1 Like