Converting a rhino file into sheet metal flat patterns

Hi, I am a newbie. I am trying to convert a part in rhino into sheet metal 2d flat pattern drawings, but I am unable to do it. Tried unroll, make 2d (4 views USA), flatten, etc but not been able to achieve the desired result. I have uploaded the file here too for reference. Can anyone let me know what is the procedure to be followed to achieve this ?
I am trying to make auotcad sheet metal drawing (flat patterns for manufacturing) sampletest.3dm (7.3 MB)from this rhino file.

Hi Bobby - try: ExtractSrf the outer faces of the object and Join them. UnrollSrf with Explde=No.

sampletest_PG.zip (1.6 MB)

-Pascal

Hi. Thanks for the swift reply. I managed to extract the surfaces using the command you mentioned. But how did you join the three outer extracted faces. I tried using the join command and join edges command which dint work out.sampletest.3dm (7.8 MB

Can you please help on this ?

Join should work… that is what I used. ExtractSrf, then Join. Stay away from JoinEdge… see Help for caveats on that command.

-Pascal

I tried using join to join the three extracted faces, and it says cannot join surfaces. I tried checking if there were any bad objects, but there wer’ent any. Attaching the same 3dm file with which I tried here for reference. Can you please help me on this ?sampletest.3dm (7.1 MB)

You need to extract all of the outer faces - including the fillets between the horizontal and vertical surfaces.

-Pascal

Hi BOBBY,
and if you do as pascal said, it should look like this.

ED77

I managed to extract and join the surfaces, and then I tried to unrollsrf(explode=no). It did unroll but there seem to be so many views like in the picture below.

I have attached the 3dm file for reference.sampletest.3dm (14.0 MB)

How do I get the single unrolled surface and avoid those other views ?

Those are not other views but all the surfaces in that object that are being unrolled.