Convert VB to Python

hi, I am trying to translate a certain code from vb to python .
More precisely it is a circle packing code which can be found her : https://tobias-schwinn.net/2010/03/08/a-spiral-approach-to-circle-packing/ .
Given that I am quite new to scripting language overall, I wonder whether there is any sort of guides or anything of a kind that would help me understand better the used syntaxes. I did search quite a bit, but the syntax use seem to be rather complex so I found myself not being able to know where to start with the conversion.

I did also try a few online vb script to python or even to C#(in case of the slight chance it would be a bit clearer for me) yet it mostly resulted in errors.

Therefore are there any pertinent guides or anything of a kind that would make my conversion easier or actually “do-able” ?

Thank you for any feedback, all the best

I am well aware that there may be a lot of mistake in the attempt to translate the script, but I am quite new to scripting yet I kind off need to flashforward learning python as it is required for a school project I am working on
CirclePacking.gh (17.1 KB)

These may be of assistance since you say you are new to scripting.

Thank you for your answer. ^^

I did read the python primer. And I am still looking at it as well as the vb “guides” and examples. Yet I am still confused if referring to certain lines such as:

Dim intCurrCenter As Int32 = 0
Dim oCenterCircle As OnCircle = Circle_List.Item(intCurrCenter)

Dim is just vb variable declaration.

intCurrCenter is being declared as a variable of 32 bit integer type (Int32) and being set to 0.

I don’t know what the second one is (I’ve never programmed in VB, only vbscript), but it looks like a variable (oCentreCircle) of class OnCircle, whatever that is.

oh I thought that the OnCircle was a list :sweat_smile: