Construct a Cantilever Shell using Kangaroo 2

Hi guys,

Does anyone know how to construct a cantilever shell with Kangaroo 2 (or just with Grasshopper components). The cantilever shell means that part of the shell structure projects outward from the suport points. The shell roof structure is an example of the cantilever shell, the projection of its tip lies far away from the foot supports.

I am a beginner of Kangaroo 2, and do not know how to control the boundary conditions for cantilever shell, does anyone know about it?

Thank you so much,
Ryan

Hi @ryanhuangruiyang,

Could you maybe upload a diagram or sketch? Also what exactly do you plan to use Kangaroo for?

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I have uploaded the screenshot of a shell structure with four supports, I want to remove two diagonal supports, and obtain a shell structure with two diagonal tips freely hanged in the space. Can Kangaroo do this? I am not quite sure how to manipulate the two cantilever points.

Kind Regards,
Ryan
Symmetricial Shell|690x269

The typical way of using Kangaroo for shell formfinding is to find a compression only shell by using tension and reversed gravity, like Gaudi and Isler’s hanging models.

Anything with a cantilever cannot possibly be a compression only structure.
For any compression only shell supported only on the ground, the entire shell must be within the convex hull of the supports when projected to the ground plane.

So the first step is to be clear about what you want to optimise for.

One possibility is to try and find a shape where the shell itself is all in compression, but there is a tension cable along the cantilever edge. I have made some experiments trying to use Kangaroo to find these. I can dig them out if that’s what you are after.

There are other possible targets though, such as trying to design a shell shape which acts as much as possible only through membrane action, minimising bending, but allowing tension.

Hi Daniel,