Change "Display Colour" to "By Parent" within multiple files Via Script

Hi,
I am new to Rhino and I am looking for some assistance.
I’ve got 1489 Library items which have “Display Colour” set to “By Layer”, when I insert any of these items into a model as a block they keep their original colour. I was hoping that someone may have a script which will run through all the Library files and change “Display Colour” to “By Parent”.

Many thanks
Leigh

Hi Leigh - this script will ‘ByParentize’ all blocks in the current file. To use the script, save it someplace sensible on your machine and then drag and drop from there onto Rhino - from then on, you should be able to type (or put on a button) ‘ByParentize’ and have it run.

ByParentize.rvb (1.2 KB)

-Pascal

1 Like

Hi Pascal,
Thanks very much for that, but I will be creating many models which will make use of these library models and therefore I was hoping that I could get a script that will individually open each of the Library Files and make the change to By Parent at that level.

Thanks again
Leigh

You could modify this script to do that:

Hi Gijs,
I am not all that familiar with preparing scripts but I will give it a shot at changing the commands as required, thanks very much for your help.

Leigh

It shouldn’t be that hard. Just replace the last three Rhino.Command … with
Rhino.Command “ByParentize”

At least I think that’s how it should work. Can’t test right now

Hi Forum,

I have tried a combination of the above files but have been unable to build a script to run through my models and “ByParentize” the Colour of each of my individual models. Please note the models I am trying to process do not contain Blocks.

Apologies for my incompetence, but I am new to Rhino.

Thanks again for your help.
Leigh