C# Custom Components - Components down the chain affecting earlier outputs

Hi,

Background: I’m a beginner coder, whose trying to make a custom plugin for 3-d printers. I’m creating a 3-d printing plugin that specific to the design lab I’m a part of. I’ve created a custom class, called nodes, which holds all the info that the printer needs along the toolpath. For example tool speeds, print rate etc. I have the standard “construct node” and “deconstruct node” and a bunch of components that can adjust the speeds and orientations of the prints.

I have a bit of a strange occurrence that I can’t make sense of. It seems like when information stored in the nodes is adjusted down the chain, it references earlier. I’ve attached a few photos to show what I mean.

As you can see each time a component is turned on the output for earlier components in the chain are also updated. I’m unsure as to why this is happening but its not ideal. Anyone have any ideas what might be going on?

Much appreciated

Charlie

It looks like you may be storing data in static properties that are shared between instances of your nodes. Is it possible to share the code and/or the grasshopper definition?

You have to duplicate your data when it becomes an input, so the next component works with a copy instead of a reference. If I remember correctly GH does this in the constructors of the Goo types (GH_Goo< T>), for example: public Goo_Node(Node n) : base(n.Clone()){}. Also make sure your duplicate methods in the gh types are making duplicates.

Hi Menno,

The IP department at the lab would crucify me, even though I don’t think there’s anything novel in what we’re doing. I would say you’re correct that the data is being stored in static properties. I thought that might be possible. Is the common work around as Dani below says? You normally would duplicate your data at each component? Would this have a dramatic impact on memory?

Thanks very much for your reply

Charlie

Hi Dani,