Bye bye SketchUp since forced subscription licence

I don’t really like the Rhino interface, but I love Grasshopper.

I use 100% SketchUp + Layout to produce everything in my activity as an architect. However, since Trimble’s acquisition of SketchUp, we have experienced very disappointing development. Since 2 and a half years, I have learned and use Grasshopper on Rhino 5 Mac every day. I develop solutions that allow me to do without VisualArq which only works on Windows, and which disappointed me with its bugs and its slowness.

For the past few weeks, Trimble has abandoned support for our perpetual licenses, to force us to rent the software. I have been using it for almost 20 years, I will use a version that will no longer be able to update and I will gradually abandon it in the coming years to adopt Rhino definitively.

There is a lot of dissatisfaction on the SketchUp forums.

This to tell you several things:

1. There are a number of us who NEVER adopt the software by subscription. So far McNeel’s licensing policy has been cool.

2. I am careful to upgrade my version of Rhino to 7 on the Mac. I’m careful to run Rhino someday on Apple Mac Sillicon (ARM) because of the huge performances that are starting to leak. Maybe Intel X86 is a dead end technology for performance compared to ARM ?

3. Just in case, I coded a small prototype of Grasshopper-like

4. If Rhino’s licensing policy remains cool and Rhino continues to be developed on the Mac, you can be sure that I will be promoting it, as I have been promoting around me, of SketchUp. SketchUp success is the result of enthusiastic user.
    For the moment, I am concentrated on solutions to do better and faster with Grasshopper what I do on SketchUp.

Interesting, can you expand on that a little?

Yeah that sucks! I’ve encountered the same marketing ploy with many other apps and also abandoned them. I hope McNeel doesn’t flirt with that idea, otherwise it’s time to say goodbye to Rhino/Grasshopper.