Brazil vs Flamingo

Hello. I’m new to rendering so sorry if this question is obvious to you guys, but what is the difference between Brazil and Flamingo? If I understand correctly Brazil is more advanced and has more options?

I’m a jeweler and will probably only be rendering jewelry. Would one be better for jewelry rendering than the other?

Another unrelated thing I was wondering about, if anyone knows… I am trying
the demo version of Keyshot now, but where are the jewelry materials? The
selection is terrible and I haven’t been able to find anything decent
online.

Check out RandomControl’s Arion…it’s very good for jewelry.

http://www.randomcontrol.com/arion-for-rhinoceros

1 Like

Ratyoke,
I had a similar dilemma when I got ready to buy a separate rendering software for Rhino. As a jeweler I needed something that would give me as near real as possible. I checked both Flamingo and Brazil and to me I thought Brazil was right up my alley.

This said with any rendering software there is quite a learning curve to get the material “look” you are after. I think you should go to this link and take a look at what is there. There are many images posted by users that will show you just how wonderful this software is. Also at this link there are vast numbers of materials you can download for future use.

I am also a stone bead maker and have found that I can get some excellent results rendering beads to give me an idea of what a bead might look like in a particular stone. I am still learning how to work on materials so that they look right and find the Rhino tutorials help greatly.

My vote is for Brazil because of the software and also because it is a McNeel product so you can know that this software works great with Rhino.

All my best … Danny

Below a few images rendered in Brazil

2 Likes

Maybe this will help: