Boolean Operations not working between two polysurfaces

Hi all,

I’m very new to Rhino, and I am trying to do a BooleanSplit between two polysurfaces. Basically I want to create a fillet but since the angle is a bit steep and curved, I will have to do a BooleanSplit instead of Fillet.

I created a Loft polysurface using the top edge of the object. Then I moved the polysurface so that it is intersecting with the object, and then I did the BooleanSplit. It failed, unfortunately, and other Boolean operations didn’t go through either. I checked the intersection using the Intersect command and it gave me a ‘closed curve’, so doesn’t that mean both objects are intersecting?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks a lot!

hanger.3dm (410.6 KB)

I don’t know why a boolean fails on this one.
Personally, I wouldn’t have thought about using a boolean here - just use the trim command and join.

Hi Ed - It does look like it ought to work - I’ll see if I can figure out what’s gone amiss… OK - several … most… of the surfaces in the open object have stacked control points. My guess is that is the problem. Were the input curves for this object made in Rhino?

-Pascal

Hi Pascal, thanks for the response. I made the vector lines on Inkscape. I saved it as a PDF and then imported it in Rhino. Is that what you meant by input curves?

Yep - 2d print/web/graphics programs do not always make curves that are suitable for surfacing … as in this case. Usually there are imprecisions in continuity and loopy curves, and occasionally stacked points like this. Rhino allows them but does not like them much.
BTW, I lied - the stacked points are at one end of these curves, not both.

-Pascal

Hi Wim,

I used the trim command but instead it kept the polysurface that was meant to be cut. I tried using BooleanDifference on the model using the resulting trimmed surface, but the resulting trim was an open polysurface, so there wasn’t any intersection. Hope that makes sense.