Bongo Help Needed: How to control a bodies translation via IK and 2 DOF

I’m pretty new to bongo and I’m trying to use it for the first time. I need help defining the animated objects.
I’m aiming on achieving a simple mechanism where a platform is lifted by two separate points. At each point there a is lever which rotates 90 degrees. (Each lever has a different length resulting in a angled lift at the end of the motion)
I’ve attached the model so you guys can assist me.
Thanks,
Lior

2DOF_Lift.3dm (743.6 KB)

Hello,

Here’s the model working as I understand it in your description.

2DOF_Lift.3dm (727.2 KB)

Instead of animating both of the levers I instead only animate the longer one. The second lever, the platform, as well as a helper point form a inverse kinematics chain. This chain is now trying to reach a goal point at the end of the longer lever. The shorter lever and platform are simple rotational joints. I had to enable limits on the smaller of the arms so it would rotate in the correct direction. I also shifted around the object pivots a bit.

It may help to do a few of the inverse kinematics tutorials to help get your head around how the system works. I think the parallelogram tutorial is most similar to this problem.

Hope this helps!

Lior,

I think your struggle with this model is because you assumed that the angel of rotation of both levers is identical. Because the levers differ in length the structure is not a regular parallelogram (equal opposite sides). Hence the rotation in every corner is dissimilar.

As a demo, in 2DOF_Lift 000.3dm (765.1 KB) both levers are equally long, hence the parallelogram is regular. This makes your initial setup (in which both levers are “driver”) feasible. To ‘close’ the parallelogram I use an auxiliary point and line. This technique is illustrated in this video http://bongo.rhino3d.com/video/the-conception-of-an-ik-chain-a-scissor-arm
I rather use a point and a line than 2 points – it bypasses accuracy in positioning.