Bass Guitar Neck Surface Help

Hello,

I’m new to Rhino and I have no idea where to go from here. I’m trying to create a surface from a wire frame (not sure what the technical term is) made out of curves, but I’m stuck on how to do it. I tried to do a network surface, but there are 5 sides and it didn’t work. I also tried to break it up into pieces, but the pieces didn’t transition into each other smoothly.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Simon.
Bass Neck Help.3dm (159.7 KB)

Split your curves into manageable sections. Then use Surface Edge curves to generate the surfaces.

1 Like

Hello Statosfear,
Thank you for the help.

I just tried using network surface with the surface edges and it worked really well. However, it’s not quite as smooth as your example. It’s nothing some sanding wouldn’t take care of but just out of curiosity is there anything that you did differently?

Thank you,
Simon.

It is possible to use the NetworkSrf command and select surface edges (not just curves). When a surface edge is selected, in the dialogue you can then select the desired continuity at that edge. If four surface edges are selected, it is possible to make a patch with curvature (G2) continuity on all sides.

Then use Zebra to analyze the curvature light lines (no black-white discontinuities imply G2 continuity).

2 Likes

I gave it some further thought and came up with this. It’s the best way to resolve the surface flow and continuity issues with your design.

1 Like

@Stratosfear
I tried to copy this and got lost along the way. Is there any chance you could send me the 3dm file?
Thank you.

@menno Thanks for the tip!

I’d perhaps use sweep2 and checking the retain height or some option like that to get the smooth surface for the arc part.
Between the transition perhaps blendsrf would be best to get smooth transitions.
You can use splitedge command to break up the surface edges to be able to split the surface created by sweep2.