About how VisualARQ exports models to IFC

Hi there,

I’m new to VisualARQ and I was drawn to it because firstly it is based of Rhino which I am very familiar with and secondly it is advertised as being able to make any object a BIM object with custom parameters too.

I just wanted to clarify, for these custom objects with custom parameters, what happens when we export it to IFC? Will other software packages (e.g. Revit or ArchiCAD) be able to import these custom objects along with all their parameters?

Also what kind of IFC object type would these be classed under?

Thanks in advance, apologies if the questions are unclear, I am quite new to BIM.
Ervine

Hi @ervinelin,

You can convert any piece of geometry into an informed BIM object with the custom Parameter workflow. You can basically create new custom paramters (i.e: “price”, “manufacturer”, “phase of construction”, “material”, etc…) and assign information to any object in Rhino (no matter if it is a polysurface, a mesh, or a VisuaARQ object). These parameters will be stored in the geometry as IFC Properties when you export that model to IFC.
In this video you can see how it works: https://youtu.be/rdX7I79qTTI

On the other hand, with the ifcTag feature you can assign specific ifc categories to these objects, so for example a polysurface can be exported as an ifcColumn, an ifcWall, an ifcDoor, etc… These ifc categories can be also assigned by layer. You can see how that works here: https://youtu.be/AMKXYyJpEe4

Finally, with the Grasshopper styles workflow (option to create VisualARQ object styles from Grasshopper definitions), you can create custom parametric blocks on existing VisualARQ object types. The parameters that rule objects with that style will be also exported as IFC Properties, but only as “static” information (I mean, no parametric properties will be kept in IFC files for those particular objects).

Let me know if you have further doubts or questions.

Thanks a lot for your prompt reply,