Getting into Rhino for jewelry

Hello everyone!

So… I’ve always sketched jewelry as a hobby. My SO is encouraging me in pursuing this further.

One problem… I am brand new to this. I don’t own a PC capable of running Rhino 8 (let alone a Rhino license).

On the other hand, i would only use it to learn to design jewelry, not… buildings, or boats, engines, or whatever. I don’t know if my use case would make it worth investing in a pricey workstation, feeling like I would exploit 10% of its capabilitles.

So, does a “Rhino 8 for jewelry” version exist? Is it a plug-in, a module, a library? Can i get it with the student version?

On the hardware side of things, given my use case:

1. Windows PC or Mac (M3)?
  2. Would I be better off with a high-core-count CPU? On one hand, I’ve read around that rhino only takes advantage of only 2 CPU cores is it true? OTOH, I’ve read people recommending crazy Xeon workstations just for running Rhino… Why?
  3. Do i need a discrete graphics card in my case?
  4. If so, would having an Nvidia rather than an AMD GPU make a difference when running Rhino?
  5. If so, in my case, what generation(s)? What series? What’s the rationale? What technologies or drivers am I supposed to look for?
  6. Are there any laptop series you would recommend?

I’m not on a tight budget, but I am surely not spending 4k on a workstation either.
I can build my own PC or just buy a mac mini or a laptop.
I don’t need to be lighting fast, just to get by without any hiccups.

Thanks.

start here-

Hardware side, for Desktop:

1. Either should be fine, but I have never had an Apple product.

2. Rhino is mostly single core. Generally, you would want an Intel 12600K or an AMD 5800X(3D, but the X3D is really for gaming). 8(x2)/12 cores and 16 threads will give you a good and balanced build that should last you many years. The only reason for higher core counts is for CPU-based rendering using something like Cycles.