VBScript - Memory crash - How to optimize memory allocation?

Hi everyone,

I have in VBscript a code that imports data from TXT file and stores a dataTree in an array (dataTree size : 1000 branches x 1000 points/branch x 3 coordinate/point). The problem is, when I want to increase the data set to a tree of 1500 x 4000 x 3, I get a memory error :

1/ Is there a way to increase this memory limit ?
2/ If not, well I could reduce the size of my tree, because only a few of my 1500 branches actually contain 4000 points (about 70% of these branches contain less than 500 points), but this implies to allocate memory using Redim Preserve arrBranch(i)(n+1) to allow for more points and at first sight this does not seem to function. Should I persevere with Redim Preserve ?

Thanks,
Tanguy

I’m no expert on how this works, but -

A point coordinate triplet probably takes about 24 bytes of memory - maybe 8 bytes per number…?
1500 x 4000 items in your array each with 24 bytes will be 144,000,000 bytes, i.e 144,000 Kb or 144 Mb?

So, while significant, probably not out of the question. However, IIRC, with VBscript (haven’t used it in years, and dealing with arrays is one reason why) you can only redim dynamically the last branch in the multidimensional dynamic array, not the rest.

Thank you for the response. I see two possible solutions:

1/ try and use

Redim Preserve myPointsTree(iBranchToExtend)(nPointExisting +nNewPoints)

, as in a nested array the concept of “last dimension” maybe does not apply (to be tested and confirm)

2/ specify the type of my variables ? I suppose that all of the 2000x4000x3 elements of my tree are VARIANT type by default ? I don’t know how to declare something like

Public myTree(2000)(4000)(3) as Double

Thanks,
Tanguy

yes, I should probably move to Python or C# if dealing with large arrays becomes too tricky, but it needs some adaptation time I don’t really have for the moment…