Use c# from visual studio in GH

Hi,

I am new at using GH. Could anyone help with how could I use the code below I wrote in visual studio in GH using c#and a panel component? Is there any component that allows a value to be entered manually and change the output?

The objective of this simple piece of coding is simple. It is to generate what the Console.WriteLine statement says at the end before Console.ReadLine. It is a bit interactive as it asks the user to enter the numbers, hence why I asked the question about a GH component that allows values to be entered manually.

////////////

Console.WriteLine(“Please enter radius value:”);
double r = Double.Parse(Console.ReadLine());

Console.WriteLine(“Please enter number of circles:”);
int number = Int32.Parse(Console.ReadLine());

double area = Math.PI * r * r;
double totalarea = number * area;

Console.WriteLine(“For {0} circles of radius {1} the total area is {2}:”, number, r, totalarea);

Console.ReadLine();

/////////

Many thanks in advance for any help!

Will

How about something like this?:

example.gh (4.8 KB)

private void RunScript(double Radius, int NumberOfCircles, ref object Area, ref object AreaTotal)
{

double area = Math.PI * Math.Pow(Radius, 2);
double areaTotal = area * NumberOfCircles;

Area = area;
AreaTotal = areaTotal;

RhinoApp.WriteLine("The area is " + area.ToString());
RhinoApp.WriteLine("The total area is " + areaTotal.ToString());

}

1 Like

Many thanks Manuel!

Hi manuel but the circles are not visible in Rhino main screen why? sorry for asking if it is stupid question I am just very new to programming and trying to learn!

The example above only performs calculations but does not create any geometric objects.

If you want to create a circle you can use the “new Circle()” constructor.
This function and many other are documented in the RhinoCommon API documentation:
https://developer.rhino3d.com/api/RhinoCommon/html/T_Rhino_Geometry_Circle.htm