Terrestrial 3D Scanners - Experiences?

Hi Forum,

I have a question, I am currently thinking about buying a 3D scanner to get point cloud data for small to medium sized buildings.
I recently rented the Leica BLK 360 G2 for a few days and though most result were OK, there are some issues like e.g. getting almost no reflections from dark roof tiles or the fact that despite the nominal range of 45m everything beyond 20m is often not usable…

I was also able to try the new Pin Point software

, which might be an interesting alternative to the often very pricy SW from the manufacturers.

Is there anyone here in the Forum who has experience in this field and likes to discuss the different pros and cons here (price, software(price), robustness, precision… ?

Since @Mike_A wrote here:

… that he uses a Faro S70 I would of course be interested in his experiences :wink:

1 Like

Hi Andreas,
I have been creating 3D models from scan data since 2000 (23 years:)
I used to be involved in sales and support for Leica and Riegl 3D scanners for about 5 years, and have also worked in the surveying industry for over 10 years. I have just finished working for a large boat yard using Faro scanners for superyacht refits.
You get what you pay for with 3D scanners.
The BLK G2 is about the minimum that I would work with, The Leica RTC 360 is very nice, but my pick would be the new Faro Focus Premium as far as Bang for Buck goes.
You should also look very seriously at a photogrammetry solution, google Eugene Liscio - ai2-3D a forensics expert who does very accurate building scale work with photogrammetry.
The really good news is that Rhino is the perfect solution for working with scan data (in my experience)
www.scan2model.com.au

7 Likes

Wow! that is impressive !