(Technical drawings) Section views, plans, exploded views?

Hello to everybody!

As an industrial designer I ofter need to export technical drawings such as orthographic views, sections (sometimes of mechanical complex parts) and axonometric exploded views (isometry 30/60 or military45/45).

The thing is: I always struggle to obtain those kind of drawings in a clean easy way and in vector.

-I never found an easy way to make sections.

-I use sometimes make2d to obtain orthographic views but the result it’s quite messy and not clean at all if your 3d is not super simple (it never is).

-exploded views are a nightmare. Are there any tool to facilitate the process?

-is it possible to obtain different axonometric views besides the standard isometric viewport (30/30° if my memory serves me well) + make2d?

my question is addressed expecially to other industrial designers/architects/engineers (but also to McNeel of course):
I’m curious, what’s your process to obtain these kind of drawings?

Thanks!

I am facing the same issues in architectural drawings.

Sections. Try SectionTool plugin it is an free extension tool for rhino or use VisualArq section tool that is more advanced.
Orthographic view probably you can use export PDF as vector graphics or DWG line export.
Exploded view: Named Positions. I found that quite handy.

there is an onboard section command which can help you slicing parts out, also clipping plane can get you a preview which works well with make2d.

you can adjust a parallel camera to the angle of your likings and store it as a named view and also make a template with it. you can import named views from other files and recall it anytime you want to make a snapshot.