Sweep Shapes Along Compound Curve

Hello. I am looking for some guidance as to how to sweep the two shapes shown in the image along the compound curve shown. These shapes form an arch wrapped on a cylinder. I am very new to Rhino and I cannot get it to sweep correctly. Any help would be most appreciated!

Thanks!

Hi Tom - please post a file with those curves.

-Pascal

Compound Curve.3dm (1.1 MB)
Here is the drawing. Thanks!

Tom

Hi Tom - is this it:

Compound Curve_Maybe.3dm (1.3 MB)

Sweep1, from relocated profiles (rotated in Front) with 'Roadlike on the axis shown.
Actually, @Tom_Haws - I take that back - Freeform Sweep1 may be better here, not Roadlike.
File is updated

-Pascal

Yeah, that is what I got too. From the top it needs to look like the attached image. The back face of the profiles need to stay vertical - no rotating back and the back face needs to cut back perpendicular to the front face at the ends.

Top View:

Front View:
Capture2

Yeah, you may end up needing to build this in parts if all the cylindrical faces need to stay parallel to the cylinder.
Hm - is this any better:
Compound Curve_Maybe.3dm (1.6 MB)

?

-Pascal

Very Close! The only thing is the ends need to cut back perpendicular. Your model looks very clean. Did you just sweep it in one plane and then ā€œbendā€ the whole model? Iā€™m so new, Iā€™m not sure if thatā€™s possible :slight_smile:

Thanks,
Tom

Yep, there is a bend and it looks great. Iā€™m going to head in that direction now. Thanks, Pascal for your help!

Tom

Hi Tom - Bend may work as well but I used trickery -

ProjectObjects.rhp (20.5 KB)

See the attached plug-in. Download and unblock the rhp file in Windows Explorer, then drag and drop it onto Rhino to load it and add the command ProjectObjects
The base objects are Revolved from the profiles; these are then projected onto that section of a cylinder from the Front view with density set to 16 both in x and y, though y could probaly be less there is no harm done.