Space between curves

Hi everyone,

I’m really new in grasshopper and I don’t really know How to do my stuff
I have a rhino map with curves wich are Buildings, from an illustrator.
And I want to display buildings, according to space inbetween
For examples if there is more than 50 meters between 2 buildings, they will disappear

bati isolé.3dm (6.7 MB)

Thank you for your help!

You mean that you want to find all Curve to Curve min distances?

If so and if the layout is planar do the following entry level stuff (and we talk later for the “perfect” solution): get the Curve/Closed Polyline centroids and do a classic delauney triangulation (EDGES not MESH).

Then using something the likes of Sandbox you can have control on the 3 connectivity trees related with P(oints),L(ines).

This allows you to have pairs of curves based on LP connectivity indices (since centroids are due to curves their indices are 1:1 to curve indices). Then find the min Curve to Curve distance (per pair), and then do whatever you like.

If you want an example on all that freaky stuff as above notify (I’ll make a rare exception: this could be carried over viai components and not code).

BTW: Plan B (without triangulation) if to perform a proximity search (using the , say, curve center points). There’s a native component that does this and since it outputs connectivity data and since center indices are the same with curve indices … blah, blah

That said I have a C# that does what you want with 16 different ways (2 methods * 2 modes * 4 search options) but it could be useless to you if you don’t speak the language.

Maybe the plan B seems to be more userfriendly
Could you let me try with your file?

Well … get it but these things are either Nirvana and very user friendly (case C# fluency) or Hell (the other thing).

Curves_DelauneyConnections_V1.gh (140.6 KB)