[Solved] Starting point for developing

Hi,

I’m an engineer and have idea about a plugin. I have basic knowledge in python and csharp.

I do not understand however where should I start.

I think RhinoCommon would be the ultimate and most powerful approach but for sure this is not for beginners. There are examples but no explanation on how to add them to your project. And maybe not up to date. I saw they are developed for Rhino5.

How to create Eto forms is there a graphic designer or I have to do it with coding? Where can I find an example of a panel with some widgets on it accessing and manipulating 3d objects?

Can I use WPF created inside visual studio? How do I make it interact with rhino.
Can I make dockable windows?

From hellorhinocommon I undrestood how to create a command, but how do you make an icon a toolbar/panel and place this icon there all coming with the plugin you create?

Can I create custom types? Can I create new type of line or a box that has its own attributes and properties that I can later use for calculations?

What is the difference between developing a plugin for rhino and a component for grasshopper?

Can I create custom rhino types from a custom component in grasshopper?

What is the best streamline? Creating a plugin in Rhino developing a new type of object, then create a component in grasshopper access to that new type so that you can use GH to automate?

Thanks in advance.

Hi @ivelin.peychev,

The best place to start is here: http://developer.rhino3d.com/

There are samples available for both Rhino 6 and Rhino 5:

GitHub - mcneel/rhino-developer-samples: Rhino and Grasshopper developer sample code

The Rhino 6 samples are in the 6 branch, and the Rhino 5 samples are in the 5 branch.

I believe there is a graphics designer in the works. But most Eto work is done by just typing code.

https://github.com/mcneel/rhino-developer-samples/tree/6/rhinocommon/cs/SampleCsEto

Yes. Keep in mind that WPF is for Windows only.