Simple key/value sorting in C# with RhinoCommon

Total noob question, but can anyone explain how to sort the items in one list (values) using the items in another list (keys)? Must use RhinoCommon in C#. All I want to do is mimic the Sort List component in Grasshopper. Can’t make heads or tails of the documentation.

Would also be great to see how to sort the items in one list by itself (int and string).

Thanks!

You can use Array.Sort() if you don’t mind turning your collections into arrays.

System.Array.Sort(keysArray, valuesArray);

4 Likes

To sort a collection by keys:

In my example I am sorting a list of points by their X coordinates:

using System.Linq;

private void RunScript(List<Point3d> x, object y, ref object A)
  {
   var l =  x.Select(a => a.X).ToList();

A = Sort(x, l);

}

// <Custom additional code> 

public  List<Point3d> Sort(List<Point3d> dataToSort, List<double> dataToSortWith)
  {
    // Create Key value List
    var keyValueList = new List<KeyValuePair<double, Point3d>>();

// add data to key value list        
    for (int i = 0; i < dataToSort.Count; i++)
    {
      keyValueList.Add(new KeyValuePair<double, Point3d>(dataToSortWith[i], dataToSort[i]));

}

// sort list based on key values
    keyValueList.Sort((a, b) => (a.Value.CompareTo(b.Value)));

return keyValueList.Select(a => a.Value).ToList();
  }

There are other methods that work on single Lists such as Sort as @Dani_Abalde pointed out, OrderBy OrderByDescending… etc. By using LINQ you can query, sort and filter data with great flexibility

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/csharp/programming-guide/concepts/linq/

There is also a nice data structure in C# called KeyValuePair that is intended to sort a list with the data of another list.

PS: I am not even sure if this is the most computationally optimal solution to do this

3 Likes