Rotation problems

Hello, I’ll drown right away, I’m a beginner, I ran into the problem of object rotation, I want to achieve the location of objects “in a whirlpool”, that is, objects rotate along a given path from the edges to the center
problem.gh (12.4 KB)

Please help, no more ideas.
Or mabye does anyone have a guide on how to do this?

1 Like

rotate_gid_2023_Aug14a.gh (17.4 KB)

5 Likes

wow Joseph, thank you so much, helped out a lot

Just for fun, I replaced the ‘Pi / 4’ text panel with a slider (blue group) that goes from -Pi to Pi with snapping at -Pi/4 and Pi/4 (±0.785). This effectively allows you to rotate all the grid objects by rotating the source object’s reference plane.

Then, in top view, I noticed that the grid objects were not all in a straight line :exclamation: :question:

Looking closer, I realized that your points that create the IntCrv are “weird” in the sense that the first point (the bottom of the curve) is not centered on the origin. In fact, it is below the XY plane!!
{0, 0.327535, -0.016614}

So I added List Item to get that point and use it for the source plane.

In the process, I also noticed that the circles that you loft to create the object are all “flat” instead of what I expected (perp frames) so I replaced Divide with PFrames and replaced Circle CNR with a simple Cir (Circle) component. Which makes a nice shape but I didn’t realize until I was typing this that their bottoms aren’t flat. :sweat_smile:

So I just now put that back as it was… after I snapped this top view image, where it wasn’t obvious:

rotate_gid_2023_Aug14b.gh (23.5 KB)

I’ll leave it at that.

5 Likes

Joseph’s method of rotating the alignment of the grid cells content really got my attention, so I wanted to see if I could come up with a way to make the results 3D printable. Here’s what I came up with:

Step 2 will be to adapt this to some sort of non-planar base surface. Maybe a hemisphere. Or the top half of a horizontal torus?

2 Likes