Rhino3dm.py draw line

Hi All,

I’m new to Rhino, and I’d like to create a Python app that opens Rhino, draws some geometry then saves and closes the file. Rhino3dm.py seems to be a good choice for this case.

My first problem is drawing a simple line. If I understand the basic methodology correctly, I need to create the geometry in memory, then add it to the document. Initially, I tried to draw a ‘line’, but that failed - eventually, I figured that I can use ‘linecurve’ instead which does work.

The mode.Objects.AddLine(l1) line throws a TypeError (‘incompatible function arguments’). But the type of l1 is rhino3dm.Line which is a valid input for AddLine according to the documents.

import rhino3dm as R

model = R.File3dm()

p1 = R.Point3d(0,0,0)
p2 = R.Point3d(10,10,0)
l1 = R.Line(p1,p2)

model.Objects.AddLine(l1)

model.Write(R"TEST\Test-01.3dm", 0)

I eventually figured that the following does work:

model = R.File3dm()

p1 = R.Point3d(0,0,0)
p2 = R.Point3d(10,10,0)
l1 = R.LineCurve(p1,p2)

model.Objects.AddCurve(l1)

So I guess the question becomes, what is the difference between ‘line’ and ‘linecurve’?

Thanks in advance.

There is a simplified script syntax that can be used with Python, and not a bad place to start. Here are some methods to add geo directly. Rhino - Rhino.Python Guides

Rhinocommon is a bit lower level API. Not sure if this helps, but here is about curves in rhino common: Rhino - Determining Curve Object Types

1 Like

Thanks, I did find those resources, but it seems that RhinoScriptSyntax can only be accessed from within the Rhino environment - is that right?

In my case, operating external to Rhino is not mandatory, but definitely preferred. So Rhino3dm seems to be the best option.

File3dmObjectMaterialTable.AddLine takes two points: File3dmObjectTable — rhino3dm 8.4.0 documentation

So your script could be:

import rhino3dm as R

model = R.File3dm()

p1 = R.Point3d(0,0,0)
p2 = R.Point3d(10,10,0)

model.Objects.AddLine(p1, p2)