Rhino3d Engine as a web service?

Hi

I am a computational designer based in S.Korea, and our team is currently working on the web service api for ruled based modeling for urban development.

The design computation team has scripted all the national building regulations necessary for the schematic design (i.e. volumatric study) in python in Grasshopper environment, and tested the modeling system successfully.

We do, however, have currently a huge debate over setting a 3D modeling engine for our web service between engineers.

One says for the web service, Rhino is not suitable as it would have a huge dependency to the software, and ideally engineer team wants to run the modeling process without running actual Rhino on server to reduce the computation timing. So they recommend to build up system using Python based Blend 3D engines.

Our computation team is not friendly with Blender3D, and it seems that the Rhino api we used does not exist in Blender 3D api(well maybe this is because we just dont know much about Blender3d )thus we think there is a huge risk in switching the 3D modeling environment. We already delievered the message that Blender is not a popular engineering tool for this industry, but they want more concrete reasons to choose Rhino over Blender. (In fact they also dont know much about Blender - they think computing geometries purely using Python api without running an actual software in server is the answer though)

I know there have been lots of attempts to solve this kindnof situation - Resthopper developed last year at AEC hackathon host by TT Studio.

I sincerely appreciate for your thoughts regarding our team’s concern and it will be great if one can share valuable insights and suggestions.

Thanks.

1 Like

Have you looked at rhino 3dm? And rhino compute?
https://www.rhino3d.com/compute
Both of these projects look like a good fit to your needs

2 Likes