Rhino for Mac or Windows for Guitar Making?

Hello,

I’m new to CAD/CAM and I’m looking for solution that allows me to easily create guitar models for manufacturing with a CAMaster Stinger CNC.

Rhino has the reputation of being easy to use and the price is low compared to industry standards like Solidworks.

So my question here is what will I miss if I go with the Mac version?

I’m a Mac guy and while I also have a top gaming PC and a Firepro V4900 that I bought for Solidworks (the original plan), I’d like to stay in the Mac realm. I’m going with either a Mac Pro or Retina iMac (currently running a MacBook Air).

Real world advice appreciated. Thanks

@decibelguitars might have the most useful opinion on this one but for my extra 2 cents…

Almost all of the modeling tools are in the Mac version so if you can create your tool paths in another program, I bet you’d be fine with Rhino for Mac. On the Windows side, Rhino has plugin support so you could use a plugin like RhinoCam to do the tool paths directly in Rhino. Plugins aren’t yet available on the Mac side but it’s high on the list to provide developers with the tools they’ll need.

In either case, I’d suggest using the evaluation versions for 90 days to see what works before investing. Post here with any questions or email tech@mcneel.com if you need help along the way.

Rhino for the Mac has been serving me well for a few years now, and the price has certainly been right. :wink:

You’ll still want a PC around for turning your CAD files into tool paths and running your machine. Generating tool paths and controlling a CNC remain Windows or Linux domains, but that’s slowly changing. (There is a Mac version of MeshCAM under development, which works fairly well for sculptural 3D stuff.)