Rhino and BIM

Hello all, I am an architect working with architectural design. I am absolutely new to BIM and fairly new to Rhino. Through my rhino for mac trial I have seen its power. Until I get my work PC I cannot evaluate BIM solutions. so I am seeking your opinions.

What do you guys think of BIM plugin visualarq? (RhinoBIM?)
How do you compare them to specialized BIM (Archicad, Revit)?

Thank you

Nobody?

Which BIM solutions do you use now? What do you like about them? What is still missing from your workflow? Why are you looking at Rhino for modelling architecture?

This forum is for people who use VisualARQ already, so the more they know about you, the more they might be able to understand how to best address your question.

Hi Luis, thanks for your reply.

Currently I am not using BIM (auto-cad and modo user here), I am only curious about it because I like the idea of modeling in 3d and then extracting plans, elevations, and sections etc… What I don’t like about BIM, from little I know about it, is that, it didn’t seem to be an intuitive tool for designers and especially in the modeling department. Rhino, however, I find to be intuitive and a fantastic modeling tool. That’s why I’m looking at rhino for modeling architecture. i feel like i can be quick and precise. And so i imagine if Asuni implemented its BIM plugin effectively, the combination would be the best of both worlds.

I will eventually try them once I get a PC (im a mac user), but until then I would like to hear opinions of its users.

-Best

1 Like

That helps! There are tools in VisualARQ that help you with documentation. I’ll leave opinions to the users as mine would be quite biased :wink:

1 Like

I would love to read your opinion regardless if you are willing to share.

@yousef.k