Replace number with given numbers

Hey

I have list of number which consists of

This list will contain 100’s of these values.
I need to replace them with.

So

5 = 1.0
61 = 1.2
7 = 1.4
74 = 1.48
86 = 1.72
95 = 1.8
9 = 1.9
99 = 1.98

Number
and
where meant to be 50 and 70 but I derived them from a decimal place and grasshopper changes
0.50 to 0.5
0.70 to 0.7
0.90 to 0.9
Thanks.

There seems to be a perfectly linear relationship between your input and your output, which means you can just run the values through an expression rather than try difficult find/replace logic. Would that work?

I think it might work but I’m new to grasshopper and I don’t know how to construct anything, especially expression which I cannot even copy.

I solved it like this ;/

but it still doesn’t work ;/?

This is my structure

I would have though it would create shapes with 1’s first (at the bottom) and then go up but it seems like it chooses values randomly. Why?

I can’t tell from looking at images. Please simplify your file as much as possible and upload it in accordance with this.

If you have a list of numbers that need to become a different list of numbers and there’s an equation for converting them, that’ll be the easiest solution. But I need to actually have the data you have otherwise I can’t tell what solution would work.

test 5.gh (14.1 KB)

Geometry does not follow the order of the panel.

First value is 1.4 but grasshopper will generate 1
Second number is 1.4 but grasshopper will generate 1.2
I want it to follow the order shown in the panel.
Really confusing.

You mentioned that 5 and 7 were meant to be 50 and 70 but that they were changed by Grasshopper. Does that mean that you have actual numbers somewhere before you turn them into text?

2 Likes

or:

: )