Rendering indide the viewport

I use Octane Render which does not support rendering inside Rhino’s viewport. How I can bring the render view inside rhino’s viewport like Vray RT. Is it even possible? I only know Python and I’m new in Rhino. Please help!

This doesn’t sound like something you can do yourself but more as a wish to the developers of Octane: @paulphysicalc, @pkinnane.

I’m confused by the Grasshopper tag that you put in this topic, though.

Is there a way around this by a custom script? The reason is I am trying to render meshes in grasshopper but I’m only able to do it if it is displayed in Rhino’s viewport not an external render window. Can you help please?

If you ask me, that doesn’t sound possible. Then again, I am not the one to ask :wink:
@DavidRutten, what do you say?

Grasshopper provides its preview meshes to the RDK, so any renderer which uses the RDK to get the render meshes out of Rhino will automatically get the Grasshopper preview as well. I do not know if Octane uses the RDK.

These are examples of Grasshopper preview meshes that are rendered directly by the Rhino renderer. You’ll need Rhino6 WIP for this though as the feature was added after the last release of GH for Rhino5.

http://api.ning.com/files/dxx8iAX09VXxm8O5zon4MQXPateUTzPCpPgnpEbAaWxTIT7LcVa4oZLsrfJc1NwKAzWrS1RDUyYSwjJSNYdgddFyWJoP/cylinders.jpg

Since Grasshopper does not have a notion of materials, you’ll always get a diffuse white material, so even if Octane supports this, it may not be be useful to you. Mesh colours are included, but I do not know if Octane can handle per-vertex colours.

There are some GH plugins that pump meshes to VRay, but you may have to actually bake the geometry before you can render it the way you like.

1 Like

jaw just dropped. Where can I download rhino 6 WIP?