Part List - for Carpenter - Heading in the right direction?

Hey there i gave it a try. Since i am completely new to coding of any kind i though gh might be visually easier than rhino script or python to learn. Not sure if it is best for what i want.

This is my first Grasshopper Project, be kind with my “code” i have no idea what i am doing i just downloaded all kinds of plugins and just searched for commands i would like to do in order to reach my goal, of a carpenter friendly part list.

I couldn’t figure lunchbox excel out, but TTToolbox worked just fine.

To Do’s:
1st: I still need to find a way to create a minimum bounding box with a object based construction plane (i normally use a downloaded python command that someone else wrote for that)

2nd: I need to count objects with the same length of the bounding box & same name, count them and kick them out of the braches somehow.

I will keep you updated. Since this is my first Project and it took me only 3-4 hour. I am very happy how far i got.

I need no help in solving the puzzle, maybe just a check if my approach makes sense :thinking:

And a suggestion for sorting double objects and counting them.
Stückliste_Versuch.gh (17.4 KB)

For Joinery you could give a try this tool for Rhino8: Rhino — compas_wood

1 Like

I created this very bad cubic thingy for testing purposes, Layers contains items of the very same size, and each item is also named progressively regardless of its Layer
cubic_thingy.3dm (248.3 KB)

if each and all of your items are always aligned with the XYZ axes, then a “standard” WorldXY-aligned bounding box might be enough to know the three sizes, for instance:

Stückliste_Versuch_By_Layer.gh (23.0 KB)

this taxes the X, Y, Z sizes of each Bounding Box and sort them highest to lowest
so the last value is always the smallest, that could be interpreted as the thickness, and the first values are always the highest and the second highest one, which could be interpreted as width by length