Noobish questions - how to do that kind of operations in Rhino?

Hello everyone,

I’m a total noob in Rhino, but working in the 3D industry for years.

For a job, I received a .stp file of a model, that I import to 3dsmax using a plugin to keep the surfaces as clean as in Rhino. But since the object has been modeled (I guess in rhino), the real object has been modified. And I need to do those modifications on the .stp mode to continue working in 3dsmax.

I installed a trial version of Rhino, did watch a lot of tutorials today, but I’m still not able to do the things I need to, so here I am.

Here is one part of the model,

And this is what I’d like to do, but in Rhino (in this case, I made it in 3dsmax with the .stp converted to poly, and remeshed a part of it)

After a lot of tries, I think I start to understand how Rhino behave.

• extract the surface
  • duplicate the edges
  • simplify it whit FitCrv
  • trim it onto the extracted surface
  • join both surfaces
  • move (constraint to normals)
  • join the surfaces with BlendSrf
  • same for the holes

But… I do have an issue. It did work to connect the surface to the first hole (in two parts), but now for the other ones, I can’t connect the edges. The edge of the upper surface is “one edge”, but for the hole, it s seems to be “two edges”.

If anyone can help me, please ^^’

Thank you for reading me

Thank you, I’ll try that

what’s the difference between edges and curves?

Here you go:

2 Likes

:smiley: omg

can you spare me the time reading the whole help for that simple question? :slight_smile:

Nothing. An edge is always a curve. A curve might not necessarily be an edge. An edge is the name of a curve which defines the edge of something (a surface, mesh, etc.)

Outside if the context of what a NURBS curve or surface is, your question doesn’t make much sense. That’s why I gave you a short, simple document to get your footing.

1 Like