Modeling a keyboard button

(Cory) #1

Hi Guys,

I am new to rhino and need some help to model a keyboard button as I have shown in the uploaded picture which I made in 3ds max but I am unable to use fillet on upper edge and all four corner in rhino as it deteriorates the geometry.

Thanks in advance.

(Jeremy) #2

Hi Cory,

1. Start with a four-sided truncated pyramid.
  2. Fillet edge the four sloping edges.
  3. Fillet edge the top edge using a smaller radius and chain edges option.
  4. Ditto the bottom edges if you want to.

Then for more detail you could:
5. Put a sphere above the top of the key so it just overlaps and Boolean difference it out of the key to get a finger depression. Use Blend Edge on the junction to smooth it out a little.
6. Create text object curves of the characters on the key in the top view and split the top face with them. Delete the curves.
7. Apply different materials to the body of the key and the characters and render:

Regards
Jeremy

(Cory) #3

Thanks for your response Jeremy.

it worked but why it didn’t work out when I created this shape with polyline and tried the same method?
and How to use chainedges option in fillet. BTW I am using rhino for window.

Thanks

(Jeremy) #4

Hi Cory,

It’s difficult to say why something didn’t work without access to the model. If you upload it here (upload icon in toolbar at top of discourse input panel) I’ll take a look.

Chainedges is an option in the fillet edge command line. Search the Rhino 6 help https://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/6/help/en-us/index.htm for fillet edge for details on this and other useful options.

Regards
Jeremy

draw 2 continuous curves (no filleted curves) -> RailRevolve -> Zebra that and be amazed :cupid:

(Cory) #6

Thanks Encephalon.

(Cory) #7

Hi Jeremy thanks for the help. I have uploaded the file you can check what is going on when i use fillet on corner and upper edges.

Thanksbutton.3dm (447.1 KB)

(Jeremy) #8

Hi Cory,