Linking elements of an existing GH file with an existing Visual Studio C# Solution

visualstudio
ui
grasshopper

Hello All,

I am quite new to Grasshopper and newer to Visual Studio and I think the problem I am facing is quite rudimentary but I would really appreciate any help.

I have developed a GH (Rhino WIP) code that builds a 3D model of an octagonal prism using parametric dimensions and later unrolls it to reveal the shape of individual faces of the model. I have also developed an Visual Studio C# solution as the GUI for this GH code.
So, I would please like to know how to link the Sliders (WPF Controls) in VS C# to the Numbers Sliders in GH in order to facilitate the dimensional inputs for the model and how to extract the resultant projections of the model from the Rhino viewport into a window in the VS C# code.

I hope my questions are clear.

Thanks and Cheers!
Aravind K S

(Dale Fugier) #2

@Aravind_K_S, I’ve moved your question to the “Grasshopper Developer” category.

@dale Thank you very much.

(David Rutten) #4

I have no experience with WPF, but I imagine you have events that are raised whenever a WPF slider changes. You must handle these events and from the handler change the slider object in Grasshopper.

Slider are of the type Grasshopper.Kernel.Special.GH_NumberSlider and there’s various ways in which you can set their value. I recommend using the TickCount and TickValue properties. TickCount tells you how many distinct states a slider has, and TickValue is basically the index of the appropriate state. However if you want to assign actual numeric values that’s possible as well via SetSliderValue(decimal) method.