How to start external application when grasshopper starts?

Hey guys,

I’m in the middle of a grasshopper hackathon that last until tomorrow evening and I am having troubles finding a way to:

When grasshopper starts I want to launch an application.

Basically this is most likely a super simple thing, just need to subscribe to some event or something, I’m a professional coder so feel free to go quite detailed:)

All the help is greatly appreciated:)

Thanks

Edit: I’m using rhino 5 and grasshopper 0.9.0.0.7.6

If Grasshopper is loading a GHA of yours, then you can put all the code you want inside a Grasshopper.Kernel.GH_AssemblyPriority derived class. This class will be loaded first if it exists. Of course any component derived class will also be loaded on startup, so you can put your app init code there as well, but then you have to figure out how to not start an external all the next time your component gets instantiated.

Super David,

worked as a charm, super simple, thanks

Hey,

Now I have extra quations about this:

Question1:
Is there a function or somehting I can override that is runs after the canvas is loaded so that I cal subscribe to objectsAdded event?

Qustion2:
What about an event that triggers when grasshopper is closing? I would like to un-subscribe this event there. Or is it needed? Will grasshopper do that automatically for me when it closes?

GH_Document grasshopperDocument = Grasshopper.Instances.ActiveCanvas.Document;
     grasshopperDocument.ObjectsAdded -= addSourceChangeHandlerToNewlyAddedObjects;
     grasshopperDocument.ObjectsAdded += addSourceChangeHandlerToNewlyAddedObjects;

It’s not needed. GH only closes when Rhino closes and the entire AppDomain is shut down. Everything will be unloaded and unregistered automatically. So unless you want to do something there’s no need.