How to export a Rhino file so it reads in CAD?

Hi. I have a Rhino File (5.5.3) (open mesh) that I converted from a 3D scan. I am trying to import into AutoCAD 2019. It comes out weird (I am no expert in using Rhino). What do I have to do the Rhino file to maintain its geometry? Thank you! Naomi

this is my Rhino open mesh file that I want to export into a 3D CAD file

Did you Export a .dwg, or .dxf file OUT of Rhino, and ended up having problems with that?

OR, have you been trying to feed a Rhino native .3dm file into AutoCAD directly.

I’m not 100% sure what file type you’ve been trying to import into AutoCAD. But as I see it… I think the best bet would be to Export an AutoCAD native file format OUT of Rhino, and then just OPEN it from within AutoCAD.

… in other words I wouldn’t expect that AutoCAD needs to import one of it’s own native file formats… it should read and open a .dwg or .dxf file directly.

I tried exporting the Rhino open mesh as a dwg. Then I tried importing that dwg into CAD. I also tried just opening it as a dwg. When I import it, I see nothing. When I open it on its own, the form is not coherent.

Is it because it’s an open mesh?

I’m really not sure… It’s been a long time since I’ve used AutoCAD… and even back then it was only for 2D line work.

I was wondering myself whether or not there is a better file format for Open Mesh models, something more modern or reliable but I’m just not sure.

I’ll try to look around for some info… I remember reading a thread here about exporting meshes out of Rhino, and that there was a command that can be used to clean things up a little bit… but because I don’t do this stuff I didn’t bookmark it, or commit it to memory.

Give it a little more time Someone else will have better info for you… and if I find something promissing myself I’ll add it into the discussion.

okay thanks!

What’s “weird” about it in AutoCAD?

Hi,