How to automate tracing building outlines?

Advanced AutoCAD user (landscape architecture) / grasshopper noob here (first post in forum) - Is there a way for grasshopper to take an imported 2D architectural floor plan and generate a closed building outline? I work on a lot of very large housing projects where we receive architectural backgrounds once a week - and our site work is a series of offsets from the building outline. Automating this task of tracing the building outline every time we receive backgrounds would be a huge time saver for us!

Who provides you with the plans should provide an outline as well (every AEC BIM thingy worth the name does that (since a plan/elevation/etc is just a live by-product of the consolidated 3D Master model(s)) : Outlines are used for managing room schedule data, measuring mashing stuff, managing cost pre estimations meta-data, doing some structural and HVAC prep tasks etc etc). That said BIM is mandatory by Law in some countries these days (much more to follow).

Offseting properly a polyline (or polycurve) on the other hand is a very tricky animal (avoid at any cost the Rhino Methods). There’s an add-on (forgot the name) that does that. But I have no idea up to what point: I don’t use add-ons (except K2).

whats your tolerances?

In autocad i would find a layer (floor/slab edge) thats close and generate a hatch boundary. A similar approach could be done with rectangle bounding and curve boolean or some sort.

i just reached out to our project architect to see if they can generate this building outline for me in revit on their end, we’ll see. i guess i was hopeful, though, that there was some sort of ability in grasshopper to detect object (the building) and snap an outline (closed polyline) to the outermost extents, not unlike how the magic wand tool in photoshop works.