High Rise Buildings optimization

Hello, I am very new to Peregrine and trying to optimize a high rise tower. Started with small exercises like modelling a grillage but i get errors and wanted to ask a few questions. I do know that Peregrine is a tool to be used at the concept design stage of a building and based on that:

1. when modelling a grillage could i have openings (i.e. for staircases, elevator shafts and/or electromechanical riser)?
  2. when modelling the surfaces for bracing optimization, these surfaces should be inputted at the external faces of the building or could have these surfaces inserted into grasshopper internally of the floor plan?
  3. Any examples on how i could inserted UDL on my grillage?
    Thank you

Hi Intfire

1. Yes, you can have openings in a grillage. Just ensure that the 2D surface that describes the grillage domain has this opening, and the grillage generated will not use this space.
  2. These surfaces do not have to be on the external faces
  3. The easiest way to accomplish this is by using a set of point loads at regular intervals in the grillage domain, see “Grillage_2PartTable” in the example files. A distributed load component is planned for the upcoming Pro version of Peregrine, but is not included in the 4.0 TP version.

One comment about the third point: When modelling uniformly distributed loads, you often run into the rather unintuitive result in which increasing the number of point loads increases the volume of the final solution even if when the total force remains constant. This occurs because each load requires some structure to resist it, so the more loads that get added, the more complex the grillage will become. The results will level out however, so just be sure to use enough point loads to get a realistic solution

I hope this answers your questions!

Kind regards,
Jack

Hello,