Growing a polyline with fixed length segments along a curve

Hi everyone

I would like to create a polyline that grows along a curved path with fixed length with straight line segments of 3m and 5m segments according to a ruleset. Possibly with vectors, and when it has done 1 growth step I would like to do a check possibly just some “if” “else” “do”.

I have some issues getting started, I have done a lot of “fixed” geometry in grasshopper before - just using standard components, but I have never tried to make stuff move or grow and I have very little experience in python and none in kangaroo.

Do you have some pointers on where to start? Its a bit hard to get started with python (atleast for me), when you dont really know syntax etc. I have done some tutorials on loops. However I think I need to learn to script python to evolve my GH skillset, so this seemed like a good task to try to solve that way.

Basically the red vectors are doing what I wish to do, with a check between each growth step.2019-09-10%2009_10_15-Untitled%20-%20Rhino%206%20Commercial

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Something like this?

Cheers!
patternseeing

Thanks for the reply. Its not completely what I want, since that one takes the curve length but I need the polyline segments to be 3 and 5m.

Also I should mention that I have already done a script that can do this statically. - With the divide distance component.

My problem arises since I have a check that needs to be done every segment growth. The check determines if i need to use a 3m or 5m segment next time, and therefore I do not know how the geometry will end up looking. ie. if the final geometry it wil be composed as a 5m+5m+5m polyline or 3m+3m+3m+3m+3m polyline, beacause of this check and the ruleset that it should follow.

Thats why I’m asking for the growth algorithm help, i see that as the first step, then i can make the ruleset check, and make a loop that does them until I’m out of curve :wink: