GhPython : struggling with accents

Spoiler : I’m a huge Python noob

Working on some GhPython script to extract data from a SQLite database.

In the Python component’s preview, I get the string results of my queries just fine, but when the output is displayed in a panel, all the accents get the unicode treatment.

I’ve tried to interpret solutions found here and there, but with no success.

How can I do ?

try not to use any special characters and could you show us the the output “out” (screenshot of the panel) thanks

Hi Clementslinder,

Sorry, I am plagued with being French :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you! Don´t worry french is a great language :wink:
In the screenshot, you provided above. Isn´t it what you´re looking for in the “out” output?

Clemens

Yes it is, except I want to enter multiple SQL queries, and for each, get a distinct output.
Therefore, I need to fix this encoding issue.

You probably need to upload a more complete minimal (non-)working example. I can output a string with french accents just fine on my system:

210114_FrenchAccents_00.gh (2.3 KB)

But also, as Clemens points out, one really should avoid special characters when computing things.

1 Like

For what it is worth, \xe9 is unicode representation of é.

I connected those dots, alright.
:slight_smile:

Hi Anders,

here’s an axemple :

SQLite accents drama.py (750 Bytes)
The .db file is HERE (can’t attach)

…and this is what I get :

The reason that you get the weird looking strings is that you’re printing the result tuples instead of the string you want.

The hint is already in your own printing code where you do:

for item in items:
    print item[0] ## << see, you're getting the first item of the result tuple

Fixed version:

# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-

__author__ = "osuir, and small correction by jesterKing"
__version__ = "2021.01.05"

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs
import Rhino as rh
import sqlite3 as sq
import os

db_file_path = r'C:\Users\Nathan\Downloads\Test accents.db'