Generating Geometry of a GH file from within a python script

Hey there Rhino & Python experts!

Im pretty new to rhino and grasshopper, but hopefully you can help me with a pointer into the right direction. If this question has already been answered here in a discussion and I have overlooked it, I would love a link to that as well.

My question is the following:
I have an existing GH file that has some parameters/inputs (mostly int-numbers) and generates a geometry based on them. That works fine and I am super happy with it.
Because its really important that everything goes smoothly, I want to automate the generation of a lot of combinations of those inputs and get the corresponding STL file to it, in order to perform some quality checks and then use it as part of another production pipeline.
So in short I want to provide input parameters and generate the STL file from within a python script, in order to use the STL in my pipeline afterwards.

I guessed that this is possible, but im a bit lost when it comes to where to start really.

Can you give me some context on if this is possible and where I might start looking?
Do I need a compute server for this? - Is there a python package that I can use to load and execute a GH file? Can I use Rhino/Grasshopper from the command line to produce the STL?

Best,
Lukas

Hallo,

I think it’s a bit generic to answer, but first of all:

In V7, you can automatically run Rhino and Grasshopper scripts from command line, and of course you can export to STL. But you need both. You can also setup a rhinocompute server or you can use a web service like Shapediver. There are costs involved.

Depending on your knowledge, I would find out if this automation is really required, and if so, is it necessary to use the Rhino/GH pipeline for this. As a developer, creating or modifying meshes and writing STL or OBJ files is easier than you would expect.

Maybe you provide an minimal example here?!