Find by name

Newbie here.

I have given names to grouped objects. Now I need to find an object by its name. I expect Rhino to zoom into it and select it. Is this possible?

I see the FindText command but if I enter a name in there, it cannot find anything. Am I maybe using it wrong?

Any help appreciated!

Hi @davosian,

Try using the SelName command.

– Dale

Hi @dale,

SelName is certainly helpful, thank you! However, when this list gets longer and I am looking for a substring, I was hoping that a find method could help out as well. Since I am using a naming convention, I might want to select all objects that contain a *TA* or a W7*. Does this make sense?

Dennis

Btw, I found some coding snippet that does what I am looking for, however I do not know whether I can use this as a simple script within Rhino (e.g. the Python version):

Here is a relatively simple script that may help -

It puts up a stringbox on the screen where you can type the search term. It allows for * as wildcards at the start, end or both start and end of the search string (not in the middle though). It will select all objects that have object names corresponding to the criteria. If no wildcard is used, the object name and the entire search string must match exactly. It is not case-sensitive (but can be made so). It will report the number of objects selected and also if any matching objects are locked, hidden or are on locked or off layers.

More sophisticated searches could be made with regular expressions, but perhaps this may be enough for you…

SearchSelectObjName.py (2.6 KB)

2 Likes

Exactly what I was looking for, thanks @Helvetosaur! I am using RunPythonScript to trigger the find dialog.

Here are some instructions for making this work from a toolbar button or alias…

https://wiki.mcneel.com/developer/macroscriptsetup

I learned about aliases and tried to run the script as an alias but for some reason I do not get the popup this way. Here is what I did: