Exporting data for Cam (CNC) purposes

I am new to Rhino and am interested in producing a Macro/Script/Addin for the export of a complete model or individually selected sketches to a 3rd party Cam product for the production of cnc (G-Code) programs. Ideally it would be preferable to pass filenames (.STEP type for 3d model and .xml type for sketches) as command line parameters to the Cam software but if this is not possible the files could be written to a central location for reading by Cam on launch. I am a programmer of 40+ years experience and feel confident in use of scripting or API tools.

Any hints or pointers on the easiest/smartest method of achieving the above would be appreciated.

Thanks

Michael

thats your starting-point:

i recommend c# plug-in for the workflow you describe.
note that not all file formats can be exported by pure API-Commands.
but you can do everything that is possible in the rhino-command-line (“macro”) by using a script-runner command…

and with version 7 export did improve
https://developer.rhino3d.com/wip/api/RhinoCommon/html/M_Rhino_RhinoDoc_ExportSelected.htm

Thanks Tom.

Not really sure what you want to do, but if you just want to export .step files and call an executable with a given set of parameters, you should also be able to to that in python using the pythonscripteditor in rhino.

pseudocode would be something like this

import rhinoscriptsyntax as rs
import os

objs = rs.GetObjects()

for obj in objs:
    name = rs.ObjectName(obj)
    rs.UnselectObjects(objs)
    rs.SelectObject(obj)
    rs.RunCommand("-export -name - further options etc")
    os.system("C:\LocationofCAM\cam.exe -command line parameters")

Hi Michael,

In addition to all resources suggested by others:
Do not hesitate to keep asking questions on this forum when you get stuck. This is a community generous with help.

-Willem

1 Like

Thanks to all for your contributions, I think I have got myself a starting point.