Error message in extruded component when z =0

Hello everybody
I am a beginner in grasshopper, who can help me please, I wanted to do an extrude for a 2D plane, but when the vector value Z = 0, I got a message “1. Curve could not be extruded”, Is there a method for the value 0 to remain as input and without the extrude component showing me an error?
BUILDING1.gh (15.9 KB)

What’s your expected output when z = 0?

You could use Combine like this:

BUILDING1_2024Mar31a.gh (18.1 KB)

The purple group is very peculiar :question:

1 Like

thank you for the answer Mr. Joseph_Oster, it works well

This got more complicated than expected… maybe I’m not awake yet. Assigning random heights was easy enough but it got difficult when I wanted to have the tallest towers at the center.

BUILDING1_2024Apr1a.gh (14.3 KB)

P.S. This version preserves the original point numbering, thanks to the white group. I still feel like I’m missing something simpler? :thinking:

BUILDING1_2024Apr1c.gh (17.0 KB)

Along the way, I accidentally stumbled across this version that sorts the extrusions differently:

BUILDING1_2024Apr1b.gh (15.0 KB)

please for the second time I need your help, I want to create 9 buildings and I control their height each one alone with the minimum of sliders, if that is possible

GENERATIVE DESIGN.gh (8.6 KB)

I hastily added this white group to a version of yesterday’s code and made a few changes to preserve the data trees. Haven’t got time this morning for anything more.

BUILDING1_2024Apr2a.gh (12.5 KB)

I thank you very much for your time to help me, I am grateful to you Mr Joseph_Oster

I was worried at first when I saw all buildings with the same point list numbers but quickly understood why. The squares (and their center points) are sorted by distance to their average, which is a center point for all extrusions in each “clump” (building?). So they all have the same point list, regardless of the random heights. Zero is always the tallest.