Efficient way to subtract two solids

Hi there!
I’m new to the software so my question will probably sound very basic so sorry in advance. I have a basic model where i want to model an helicoidal stair with constraints. The way i did it, i created the upper face of the steps, extruded it downwards, the underface of the stairs (flat), extruded it upwards and intersected the two volumes. This works as intended except that the computational time is
Also i noticed that when i move the slider, the computation takes place immediatly. Is there a way to delay it until i stopped moving the slider? That would prevent a lot of useless computations.
Thanks in advance, have a nice day!

stairs.3dm (64.1 KB)

Your Rhino file is empty. Please upload the grasshopper definition.

1 Like

My bad, here’s the file.
stairs [Jan-15 '24, 1152].gh (31.5 KB)

Every iteration of the slider is calculated, which is often not desired. I usually don’t suggest to slide the slider manipulator on large definitions or heavy calculations for that reason.

You can put a data dam behind the slider. It requires you to click the arrow to let the data pass through.

The Solid Intersection works more reliably when you’re using closed polysurfaces.

Your ‘bounding box’ is an open extrusion. Using cap to close it, the result looks correct.

stairs [Jan-15 '24, 1152].gh (35.7 KB)

So the empty R8 Rhino file is pointless and irrelevant?

Looks like it works in R7, with this error:

1. Boolean Intersection set is empty

Because the bottom step isn’t fully cut by the extruded box (which is not solid).

P.S. A different way to do this is to make the box solid (Cap Holes) and use SDiff instead of SInt. The bottom step is still an issue but easily solved.

stairs_2024Jan15a.gh (23.0 KB)

1 Like